How to Configure the CD-R King LP-8186 with Smart Bro and Globe

I had the opportunity to use both Smart Bro and Globe broadband internet with my CD-R King LP-8186 router.  I had decided to document the configuration steps for both.  For the most part, the steps indicated herein apply to both Smart Bro and Globe except otherwise mentioned in some areas.  I had included the screenshots that would really matter and excluded the configuration that I left to their default values or settings.

1Operation Mode

2Wireless Basic Settings

3Wireless Advanced Settings

4Wireless Security Setup

5LAN Interface Setup-Smart

Here’s the LAN Interface Setup that applies to Globe.  Please note that DHCP has been disabled because the modem that came with my Globe broadband subscription has DHCP enabled thus the need to disable the DHCP server of the LP-8186 router.  Also, the default gateway of 192.168.1.1 is the IP address of my Globe broadband modem which is a Prolink Hurricane 5200 modem.

5LAN Interface Setup-Globe

The last part to be configured is the WAN setup.  This screenshot applies to both Smart and Globe.

6WAN Interface Setup

Lastly, if you are using Smart Bro, the RJ45 connector from the Smart Bro canopy antenna must be connected to the WAN port of the CD-R King LP-8186 rounter.

If you are using Globe, the Prolink Hurricane 5200 modem must be connected to one of your LAN ports (not to the WAN port) of the CD-R King LP-8186 router.  With Globe, the CD-R King LP-8186 acts only as an access point and all computers connecting through it are actually using bridge networking.

126 Comments

  1. networkmaster said,

    May 23, 2009 at 4:54 pm

    palitan nyo lang po ng ip address yung router from 192.168.1.254 to 192.168.10.254 & DHCP client range to 192.168.10.100 – 192.168.10.200 from TCP/IP settings & LAN Interface.
    that’s it your cd-r king router is now in router mode, not bridge..

    • Roel said,

      May 23, 2009 at 6:15 pm

      That will work too and thanks for contributing. I would like to clarify though to avoid confusion that what networkmaster says is applicable to the Globe setup (not to Smart Bro). So instead of disabling the DHCP server on the LP-8186 if you are configuring for Globe, it is OK to leave it enabled which is the default setting and follow the suggested IP addresses that networkmaster says and lastly, plug the RJ45 connector coming from the Prolink H5200 modem to the WAN port of the LP-8186 router. Personally though, I still prefer the bridge mode over the router mode on the LP-8186 plainly due to practical reasons — the Prolink H5200 modem is already acting as a DHCP server so why configure another DHCP server. To me it is just unnecessary duplication of function.

    • Rundee said,

      October 18, 2009 at 10:04 pm

      thank you networkmaster! it works! my isp is smartbro.

    • Alain said,

      March 6, 2011 at 7:10 am

      Dear Networkmaster,
      Thank you so much for the detailed explaination. It works!

  2. james said,

    June 19, 2009 at 1:45 am

    sir,, can you help me on how to install my router? im using smartbro and i want to share my connection with my other pc. i connected the cord from the canopy to my router then i connected my 2 pc. i install the software then it says that my 2 pc are conneted on local area connection, but the thing is i cant connect to the net. i cant browse.. pls help me how to solve this. thanks in advance

    • Roel said,

      June 19, 2009 at 5:19 am

      If you clicked on the images shown in my blog post, it has everything you are asking. Have you tried them?

  3. Lilibeth Romero said,

    June 25, 2009 at 12:28 am

    I still can’t configure this LP-8186 cdrking router. Is it ok if I hire you just to configure our router. You can contact me on my email, and I will give you my contact details. Thanks.

    • Roel said,

      June 28, 2009 at 3:40 am

      Sorry, I can’t do house visits at this point as it is just too risky due to the influenza A virus. Helping online is fine with me though.

  4. choy said,

    July 2, 2009 at 1:36 pm

    sir please help me configure my asus rx3041 to share my internet connection. im using the globe wireless broadband. there is no internet but the lan is working, only the wan has a problem please help me..

  5. Jha said,

    July 4, 2009 at 10:41 pm

    Hello po! Pasensya na po kaso, d ko maintindihan kung paano gagawin.. pwde po bang makahingi ng instruction in the nearest layman’s terms? i would like to use the wifi sa aking laptop using CD-R King’s wireless broadband router. SmartBro po ang internet provider namin. thanks po!

    • Roel said,

      July 5, 2009 at 11:38 pm

      I hope I can make the instruction in layman’s terms. Most reference materials of wi-fi routers I’ve seen are seldom written in layman’s language. There has to be some amount of knowledge assumed on the part of the buyer of the wi-fi router in order to successfully configure it. Unfortunately, most wi-fi routers I’ve seen are guilty on this. The screen by screen steps I’ve shown would have been helpful to some but would otherwise be still not enough to a lay person. Having said that, what I suggest is save a bunch of frustration and consult your nearest internet cafe which could provide on-site assistance to you. Show them the screen shots of my suggested configuration and let them implement it. Good Luck!

      • Jha said,

        July 17, 2009 at 7:20 am

        Router properly working! Thanks to our Tito AL!

  6. iron said,

    July 11, 2009 at 12:42 pm

    bro ang galing mo thanks! my router is now properly working! magkaiba pala configuration ng smart at globe

    • Roel said,

      July 13, 2009 at 11:13 pm

      Thanks for your comment. My blog post has served its purpose if it was able to help at least one reader.

  7. Paul George Alcala said,

    July 13, 2009 at 9:48 pm

    Help me. 09282892063

    natapos ko lahat ng step kaso ayaw magconnect. limited connectivity ang lumalabas. globe ang broadband ko. prolink 5200. pls reply po. nasetup ko dati ito sa pldt nacaconnect agad ako within 1 hour. Gagamitin ko po ba ung cd na kasama ng router? ung sa instructions mo prang di na kailangang gamitin

    • Roel said,

      July 13, 2009 at 9:56 pm

      If you are configuring your LP-8186 router with Globe broadband, it is important to connect the Prolink 5200 to one of your LP-8186 router’s LAN ports (not on your WAN port as you might have been accustomed to in your PLDT configuration). Omitting this important part is one of the often mistakes in configuring for Globe, so just make sure that this is done as suggested in addition to the configuration as shown in my screen shots. You may ignore the CD installer that came with the LP-8186 because all it does is just basic pre-sets, which are already covered in my suggested settings.

  8. MArvin Rivera said,

    July 16, 2009 at 8:20 pm

    Sir May I ask hindi ko po mainstall yung downloaded na installer from CD-R king. whenever i click set up on auto run it prompts me with an error (FIRMWARE ERROR) it says…

    • Roel said,

      July 16, 2009 at 10:50 pm

      I am not sure what is your question and if ever it is about downloading the installer, I am afraid I can’t answer it because I never mentioned in my post about the need to do that.

      • joshwaaa said,

        September 6, 2009 at 4:34 pm

        sir pls po pa tulong ano ba dapat iconfigure sa router im using LP-8186 cdr-king router .. smart bro ung connection ko.. bakit d ako ma connect sa laptop ko.. pero na dedetect nya yong signal pero ayaw mag connect meron pa po buh ako icoconfigure don sa WAN Properties ng router
        patulong po email mo po ako joshwaaa22@yahoo.com eadd ko.. or 09109644363 no. ko po thnx

  9. Paul George Alcala said,

    July 18, 2009 at 9:58 am

    Thanks Roel. Sa wan port ko nga nailagay yung globe Prolink 5200 kaya cguro ayaw. pero when i left our house. sabi ng kuya ko after 2 hours gumana na daw yung dalawang desktop PC namin pero still yun prolink ay nakakabit sa wan port. tapos yung dalawang desktop pc ay nakakabit sa Lan1 at Lan2 making Lan 3 at Lan 4 vacant. I’m not sure sa wifi kung gumagana na sya. I still not have not yet tested it since I’m not still able to go home. If I transfer the prolink from the wan port to the lan port so it means I cannot connect 4 desktop PC using wired ports? what are the disadvantages of the connections since it is still connected to the wan port? Thank you Very Much. How about the Smart Bro Prepaid Broadband Kit. Is there anyway to share it?

    • Roel said,

      July 18, 2009 at 10:17 pm

      I’m not familiar how sharing works for the USB-based Smart Bro Prepaid Broadband. This post covers the canopy-based Smart Bro Broadband only as well as Globe. If you need all 4 LAN ports for client PC’s then you might want to try networkmaster’s suggestion (i.e. the first comment on this post) to use router mode, which allows you to plug the Prolink H5200 to your WAN port thus freeing up one LAN port for your client PC’s. On bridge mode (which is my suggested configuration for Globe), only 3 client PC’s can be connected on the LAN port. Dedicating one LAN port to your LP-8186 on bridge mode can be viewed as the down side, but you can expand the number of wired connections (from your current 3 (if you are using bridge mode) or 4 wired connections (if you are using router mode) by using an ethernet switch. You plug the ethernet switch’s uplink port to one of your LP-8186’s LAN ports, then all your client PCs connect to the ethernet switch.

  10. Allen said,

    July 27, 2009 at 9:25 pm

    sir ask ko lang kung pano ireset yung router na LP-8186. thanks.

    • Roel said,

      July 29, 2009 at 10:00 am

      To reset the router, turn off the router (pull the power out of the unit), then press and hold the reset button on the rear panel with a pin and while holding down the reset button turn on the router (plug the power back into the unit). It is important that you continue to hold down the reset button for approximately 20 seconds before releasing it.

  11. Allen said,

    July 27, 2009 at 9:36 pm

    additional question sir, san po ba dapat naka plug yung ethernet sa wan port or sa lan port? thanks.

    • Roel said,

      July 29, 2009 at 10:03 am

      If your broadband provider is Smart, then the RJ45 connector coming from your canopy is connected to the WAN port. If your broadband provider is Globe and you followed my suggested settings, the RJ45 connector coming from your Prolink H5200 modem should be connected to the LAN port. The RJ45 connector coming from your PC should be connected to the LAN port regardless of your broadband provider.

  12. Issa said,

    July 31, 2009 at 5:27 pm

    OH MY GOD! You’ve saved my life, hehehe. I’m gonna bookmark this blog of yours and thanks so much for taking the time to post screenshots! Ingatz!

  13. mikey™ said,

    August 3, 2009 at 6:12 am

    Hi roel. i’d like to connect a 2nd PC using the wireless usb lan card that came with the wifi router (they’re now bundled). i was able to connect the adsl modem from globe the use wifi on my psp. my son’s psp and my wife’s wifi enabled cell fone but i’m unable to configure the 2nd pc to connect to the net wirelessly. i appreciate any ideas. thanks

  14. mikey™ said,

    August 3, 2009 at 11:01 am

    tried different settings it wont work. so, i uninstalled the drivers and reinstalled and tried one more time. lo and behold, i got it working, FINALLY after trying since yesterday. for a newbie, it was very difficult to make it work. i wish cdr king had a better manual or installation instruction in place.

  15. hideyhole said,

    August 15, 2009 at 11:06 am

    I almost threw away my cdr-king router a few days ago due to frustration.
    But thanks to your step by step screenshots I was able to successfully configure it with my smart bro internet.
    Thanks a lot!

  16. Phoenix said,

    August 17, 2009 at 10:57 pm

    good day sir.

    thanks po sa post niyo naconfigure ko po ng maayos ung router kaya lang po may problem po yung laptop po kasi nakakaconnect po yung wireless sa router pero local lang po wala po internet. panu po i-share ung net sa laptop. help naman po.

    thanks.

  17. kevin said,

    August 25, 2009 at 11:38 pm

    TOL MARAMING MARAMING SALAMAT!! GALING MO !!! OK NA ROUTER KO!!! MUNTIK NA MATAPON!!! HAHAHA SALAMAT TALAGA…PAGPALAIN KA NAWA

  18. bro said,

    August 28, 2009 at 12:47 am

    boss pag nasa

    http://192.168.1.254/home.asp

    na ako may lumalabas na
    The server 192.168.1.254 at Wireless Access Point requires a username and password.
    di ko alam user name and password.
    Wala naman akong natatandaan na nilagay ko.
    please help.
    Thanks

    • Roel said,

      August 29, 2009 at 10:07 am

      If the router is asking for a password and you have lost it, you might want to reset it back to its default manufacturer settings to remove the password and restart the configuration all over again. To reset the router, turn off the router (pull the power out of the unit), then press and hold the reset button on the rear panel with a pin and while holding down the reset button turn on the router (plug the power back into the unit). It is important that you continue to hold down the reset button for approximately 20 seconds before releasing it. After the password is removed, accessing 192.168.1.254 should now be accessible without a password.

  19. raldy bucu said,

    September 19, 2009 at 4:35 pm

    thanks a lot saved me a lot of trouble

  20. J0hn said,

    September 21, 2009 at 11:16 pm

    Hi! I have smartbro with 1 deskt0p c0nnected to it. I also have a lapt0p wich i want to share to smartbro. My questi0n is, can i c0nnect to the net using my lapt0p with my deskt0p off?

    • Roel said,

      September 21, 2009 at 11:40 pm

      Yes, you can. Your laptop, desktops and other devices connecting to the internet through the LP-8186 are independent from each other.

  21. georgey said,

    September 23, 2009 at 6:36 pm

    hi sir! my laptop can now detect the router but whenever i try to open a browser and surf the net… it says page cannot be displayed which means it’s still not connected. i dont know what to do next. i have configured my settings and all argg.

  22. John said,

    September 25, 2009 at 12:13 am

    Sir, I have Bundled Pack (LP-8186) and Globe broadband 1mbps..
    Ask ko lang kung yung settings na nakalagay sa mga screenshots sa itaas ay after maconnect this way? WALLSOCKET>>HURRICANE 5200 ROUTER>>Bundled Pack (LP-8186) MODEM>>PC?????

    • Roel said,

      September 25, 2009 at 11:29 pm

      Yes, with the assumption that if you are using Globe, the RJ-45 connector coming from your PC is plugged to the LAN port of your LP-8186 router.

  23. TheRealJohn said,

    September 25, 2009 at 8:04 pm

    Roel sir, I just bought that CD-R King LP-8186 BROADBAND router.. Did I buy the right product? There is another kasi na CD-R King LP-8186 AP router..? All I have at home is modem, PC at PSP.. So I hope I bought the right item.. Pahelp po how to set this up.. Where do I start?

  24. Jade Dy said,

    October 24, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    sir,

    i have a cd-r king lp-8186 router tapos globe broadband po ako. my friends laptop can connect wirelessly at makabrowse din. ung sa akin nakaconnect xa excellent ung signal pero hindi makabrowse. i tried direct with the lan cable from globe. nakabrowse naman. ano po ba dapat kong gawin? kc nakakabrowse nman laptop ng friend ko at ako nakakabrowse sa ibang wireless na network. un lang sa wireless network namin sa bahay hinde.

    • Roel said,

      October 24, 2009 at 7:06 pm

      Unfortunately, I do not have the answer at this point. When a guest brought her laptop with her to my home, her laptop could not connect to my home network either. I could not figure out what’s preventing her laptop to connect to my home network while every wireless device in my home had no issues connecting so I just surmised that maybe it was all due to wireless device incompatibility. It could be the same thing in your case, though I have no way to ascertain this.

    • uNo said,

      November 16, 2009 at 9:57 pm

      @Jade Dy

      Ano gamit na modem ng Globe broadband? Is it a Prolinnk?

      uNo

      • Jade Dy said,

        December 5, 2009 at 10:09 pm

        uu. Prolink ung modem nya.

  25. edwin pajaro said,

    November 5, 2009 at 1:33 pm

    sir,
    pwd po ba ma configure ung L-8186 kahit walng antenna?we are using static ip sa ofc namin.ung boss ko kasi merun cyang lp-8186 router na walng antenna deteced cya once e plug and play pero pag mag pasok ako sa 192.168.1.254 page error lumalabas…pwd po ba nyo ako matulungan any idea..thanks

  26. Obet said,

    November 7, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    Sir,

    hindi ko po mabasa ung mga screen shots kaya hindi ko po maayaos ang router ko. Paano po kaya ako makakakuha ng malinaw na kopya.

    salamat

  27. Johnpilz said,

    November 16, 2009 at 9:40 am

    This blog is amazing…..you solve my probz bro….thank you so much for the effort of writing this blog….

  28. uNo said,

    November 16, 2009 at 9:54 pm

    Sir Roel,

    Ask k lang po kung may idea kayo paano i-configure ang LP 8186 with PLDT DSL na naka P600 Zyxel na modem?

    Maraming salamat! :)

    uNo

  29. Janet said,

    November 24, 2009 at 9:20 pm

    Yay! I finally found a solution to my problem. Thanks a lot!:D

  30. reyhard said,

    December 6, 2009 at 9:55 am

    sir Roel, i’m planning to use my lp-8186 to demo our thesis proposal, web base application po, sa VMware Workstation po gumagana using virtual networking. kaso gusto ng Panel na gumamit kami ng physical network so I decided to use my CD-King router. pag gumamit po ako ng dynamic IP, connected ung system namin( XAMPP, PHP, MySQL) pag naka static ayaw na mag connect, I,am using Acer Aspire as server (192.168.1.3) at dalawang EEEPC as client. ano po ba ang magandng IP range ang pwede kong magamit para mag connect ung tatlong machine? thanks

  31. Benji said,

    December 17, 2009 at 1:22 pm

    wow! thanks for the visuals! i had a hard time configuring my router just by myself. (have little IT knowledge) same problems with guys above me… ( i have 1 desktop and 1 laptop, my desktop can connect to the internet. my laptop can detect the network but can’t use the internet…) i’ll follow the instructions mamaya pag uwi ko sa bahay… salamat po!

  32. miko said,

    January 20, 2010 at 11:17 pm

    THANKS A LOT!!! =)
    bridge worked for me!
    i tried the router mode but it didnt, but its alright!
    tnx again =) 2 laptop connected thru wireless =)

  33. Allan said,

    February 7, 2010 at 7:36 am

    VERY INFORMATIVE! brad maraming salamat sa effort mo.

    .

  34. ian said,

    February 17, 2010 at 9:57 pm

    ang basic settings ko is bridge

    so…

    ang modem is as is na… as in walang edit2
    and ang
    CDRKING ko is setup to bridge mode and ok na…

    restart2 lang and ok…

  35. Rayster said,

    February 23, 2010 at 10:12 pm

    Hello po! Salamat at may naverify ako sa site mo kuya Roel. Ang problema naman sakin is hindi ako maka konek sa 192.168.1.254. Naka kabit naman po sa LAN yung cable ng galing sa Modem ng Globe which is Siemens.. Any help po?

    • Roel said,

      February 23, 2010 at 10:41 pm

      Unfortunately, I have no visibility on Globe’s Siemens modem. My configuration settings posted in my blog apply only to Globe’s Prolink H5200 modem.

    • Roel said,

      February 24, 2010 at 9:27 am

      You may try resetting the CDR King router and check if this resolve the issue. I have provided the steps on how to reset the CDR King router in one of my replies.

      • Rayster said,

        February 24, 2010 at 9:53 am

        ^ Ok po. The problem I think lies with the CD-R King’s Router I guess. I can’t access its page.

    • reyhard said,

      May 1, 2010 at 5:20 pm

      subokan mo brad 192.168.10.254..sa LAN Interface Setup

  36. Rayster said,

    February 24, 2010 at 3:17 pm

    Sir? Is it ok to get your ym id? really need your help. I do have knowledge with computers and I tried so many things with this router. But still, no luck.

  37. Rayster said,

    February 25, 2010 at 12:33 pm

    Ayus na pala sir. Yung Router pala mismo ang may sira. BInalik ko na yun sa CD-R King at pinalitan nla ng mas ok na router.. Good to go na ako ngayon :)

  38. JeffG11 said,

    March 2, 2010 at 11:31 pm

    Nakuha kna din pano e configure ung router na CD-R-King 8186 sa Globe ” EchoLife BM622 WiMAX CPE” yan ung modem,

    after sa madugong pagkakapa napagana ko din hahaha share k lang kung panyo ko sya naconnect

    From above guide…
    sa LAN Settings tama lang na disabled ung DHCP, tapos sa wireless settings naman dapat ung DNS eh hindi obtain ilagay nyo ung 192.168.1.1 sa unang DNS tapos un na presto kahit dko alam lahat pero napagana ko sya laking chamba hahahaha

  39. edel john said,

    March 8, 2010 at 8:22 pm

    help! how to install cd-r king router lp-8186?

  40. Benju said,

    March 9, 2010 at 10:09 am

    in the wireless security setup, what should I provide in Pre-Shared key?

  41. rone said,

    March 31, 2010 at 12:44 pm

    sir roeL,
    Good Day Po.
    Nagawa ko na po ang config ang cd-r king lp-8186 router.
    nka link nako, pero kpg view ko sa Local Area Connection STATUS.
    Restricted and No Connection ang lumalabas.
    thanks in advance!

  42. Les said,

    April 1, 2010 at 6:15 pm

    Sir Roel,

    Ask k lang po kung may idea kayo paano i-configure ang LP 8186 with PLDT DSL na naka P600 Zyxel na modem?

    Many thanks.

    Les

  43. Joeriz said,

    April 13, 2010 at 2:49 am

    thank you so much…this guide has really helped me.. kudos to all of you who made this possible! =)

  44. james said,

    April 16, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    sir anu po ang default username at password? d po kz aq makapasok e..nawala pa manual ko T_T

  45. honey said,

    April 16, 2010 at 11:54 pm

    Maraming slamat po sa inyo.. my router is LP-8186 and my internet provider is globe na configure ko na ang router pero when i tried to browse in my pc problem loading page… when i tried to browse in my laptop mkakabrowse na ako.. anong pong solution nito?? /please help…

  46. kizzy said,

    April 17, 2010 at 12:53 am

    THANKZ A LOT…. My router is now woking… thankz..

  47. sally a said,

    April 21, 2010 at 10:14 pm

    si pano po pag digitel ang ISP..pareho ba ng set-up with pldt?

  48. sally a said,

    April 21, 2010 at 10:31 pm

    sir i just read in one website..d-link lang daw pwede sa digitel..is there any truth about it? if so, misleading ang nasa box ng cdr king LP-8186 which says it works for leading ISP including digitel. i just bought one today, tried configuring a few times but to no avail…

  49. James said,

    April 25, 2010 at 3:50 pm

    Roel… ang problema ko naman eh hindi ko ma-access yung router (gamit yung 192.168.1.254 matapos akong mag-reset). Yung cable ay connected sa LAN on pc side at LAN din sa router side. Eto ang nakalagay sa status ng connection:
    Limited or no connectivity
    Physical Address: 00-23-8B-08-75-42
    IP Address: 169.254.51.45
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway:
    DNS Server:
    WINS Server:

  50. kath said,

    May 1, 2010 at 1:01 pm

    thank you so much! please do not delete this post in your blog – ever! as we are all bookmarking this. from the instructions given above + a little playing around the configurations, I was able to use my router to another 4g service..wi-___ & wi-_____ , anonymous muna for now as I do not know if this is in accordance to their T&Cs. Anyway, I hope the screen shots above are clearer. Thanks for helping all of us understand chinese technology in the form of cdr-king’s lp-8186 router..

  51. ever said,

    May 7, 2010 at 2:23 pm

    gusto ko po i configure and access control, pano ko po ito gagawin at ano po ang hinihingi niyang MAC address? thanks po

  52. ever said,

    May 7, 2010 at 2:53 pm

    naayos ko na po. thanks anyway, pls disregard the above post.

  53. Jen said,

    May 8, 2010 at 11:54 am

    My connection is Globe Wimax, Modem Echolife BM622, im still having problems after i followed the above screenshots as well the advised of JeffG11 (#38), im getting limited connectivity and sometimes no connection at all…..Please help!

  54. miko said,

    May 13, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    i setup again my router
    tnx to your guide i bookmarked it =)

  55. trick said,

    May 21, 2010 at 11:17 am

    I followed this guide and it worked! Thanks!

    Btw Sir, I have two PCs connected to the lp8186 (wired connection). The problem is the second PC experiences a very slow net connection compared to the first PC. I don’t think it’s the PC’s problem because I tried to connect each PC directly to the internet and their speeds are just normal. I also tried shutting down the first PC but there’s no change in the second PC’s speed. Any idea? (My ISP is Smartbro)

  56. Rigel said,

    May 22, 2010 at 3:35 pm

    Wow. Finally, I was able to find a config that works. Thanks a lot sir.

  57. LOL kau lahat said,

    May 30, 2010 at 12:09 am

    basically di ninyo alam kong ano ang gamit ng router … heheh pag static ip ang services provider ninyo configure ninyo lang ng manually all info sa WAN IP, subnet, gateway, DHCP AND DNS taps lagay kau range ip para inyong sariling network…. then apply .. if dynamic ang provider you must also setup your WAN to Auto kasi if lagi na change ng ip ang services provides tol lagi kau mawawalang ng connection….. or just simple put it in dymamics that well the easy way all types of WAN from provider well sopport it .. hehehheh…..

  58. rodge said,

    May 31, 2010 at 11:30 pm

    sir i have my globe broadband, but there’s no signal if i plug globe broadband modem to router lp8186. in my 6 pcs comp.. n store, what should i do?
    pls.. emmail me..

  59. ben said,

    June 3, 2010 at 4:07 am

    hey, i still cantt make my cdr king wireless router work, i tried everything posted on top. it is deected by my laptop, it can connect but no internet access.

  60. jaz.ortz said,

    June 6, 2010 at 12:00 pm

    sir good day, with your configuration my lp-8186 work. the only problem im facing is the intenet connection is too slow. im using a smartbro. can you help me on this?

  61. jhann said,

    June 9, 2010 at 12:10 am

    good day kuya roel.. i accidentally changed the settings ng wifi ko but then i just wanna know if pano mababago yung settings non.. pleae help me.. thanks.. please text me so i can call u then 09297905515

    • Roel said,

      June 9, 2010 at 12:33 am

      You need to reset your wi-fi to the factory defaults. The steps to reset it can be found here.

  62. jazua said,

    June 11, 2010 at 1:14 am

    good day sir, i had configured my LP-8186 thanks to your effort. laptops connect easily. but my windows mobile phone and ipod seems to have a very low internet connection. do you any idea whats causing this problem?

    • Roel said,

      June 11, 2010 at 10:12 am

      Unfortunately, I don’t know why your Windows mobile and ipod are not able to connect to the LP-8186. But you are not alone, my Blackberry 8320 phone is not able to connect either. After spending too much time trying to make it work I gave up and stopped wasting my time further trying to make my Blackberry work with the LP-8186.

  63. red said,

    June 25, 2010 at 11:06 pm

    hi..sir can you help me configure my encore envcwi-ptg1 ip camera? do have any idea about this?

  64. red said,

    June 25, 2010 at 11:07 pm

    im using globe broadband

  65. rigzieboie said,

    June 30, 2010 at 5:20 pm

    thanks a bunch kuya roel – i just recently changed my isp from smart bro to globe dsl – and i gotta tell u configuring the router to sync with the globe dsl modem was uber difficult – but thanks to yer blog it made it seem so easy! its all working swell. THANKS THANKS. will bookmark this for future reference :)

  66. rigzieboie said,

    June 30, 2010 at 5:23 pm

    quick question kuya roel – i didnt do the last step u posted – cuz after the changing the default gateway to wut was specified above the internet starting work – so i dont know if i really need to clone the mac address – plus several laptops are connected aswell so im not sure if i need to do the same thing with the other laptops. clarifications?

  67. jay said,

    July 6, 2010 at 5:24 pm

    sir help naman po paano e configure ung cdr king ko hirap po makapasok philcom po isp namin ang gateway ko ay 192.168.1.254 paano po e configure?

  68. Glenn said,

    July 17, 2010 at 11:41 pm

    Sir, ano po ang pwede kong gawin? I’m using LP-8186 for globe wimax. Ang problem po, everytime papatayin ko ung modem, hindi na ako makakonek pagka-on ulit. Kailangan ko laging pumasok sa cdrking wlan ap webserver at iconfigure ulit. Please help before matapos ang trial period ng wimax ko at baka ma-lock in na ako e di ko din magamitan ng router. Thanks!!!

  69. Cris said,

    July 19, 2010 at 9:57 pm

    thanks it really helped me a lot… u saved my life

  70. Dean said,

    July 20, 2010 at 2:42 pm

    sir, question lang, bakit ganun ginaya ko po ung set up na ginawa nyo through screenies, gumana po sya sa laptop ko pero kapag nag connect din ako ng isa pang laptop walang net, ung mismong laptop ko lang ung merong net kung saan ko sinet up ung lp-8186… Globe prolink din po ang gamit ko sir..,

  71. Dean said,

    July 20, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    sir, i followed your instructions and it worked fine for my first laptop, pero pag itry ko iconnect ung second laptop ko through wireless wala pong net, pero ung first laptop ko meron… how can i fix it sir?

  72. Rayland said,

    July 22, 2010 at 11:46 am

    Hi sir, I’m using Smart Bro with the LP-8186, yesterday biglang di maka connect yung mga PC’s and Mac sa bahay, LAN and WAN. pero ok naman kung direct to PC yung modem. everytime na i connect ko yung smart modem sa LP-8186, nag redirect sa smart Bro portal at may error na B3003.

    I tried editing the settings of the router, but after I applied the changes, I cannot get inside the router settings anymore.

    Please help

    Thanks

  73. iancarlo said,

    August 4, 2010 at 8:10 pm

    kuya roel, dun po sa clone mac address settings, each NIC card po ba? kasi lima pc namin iba iba yung MAC address. Smart Bro po ISP ko. thanks po, God bless you!

  74. arthur said,

    August 5, 2010 at 11:37 am

    bro. na try kona lahat ayaw pa ring gumana ung cdrking sa router.. it was doing fine before the technicians came to replace the wire.. try ko linksys router , ayaw pa rin gumana.. no internet connection found.. lahat ng tutorial na google ko na.. ayaw pa rin.. is it possible the technicians disabled this?

  75. arthur said,

    August 5, 2010 at 11:38 am

    sori i meant cdking sa smartbro , not the router.. my bad

  76. KarlSoriano said,

    August 8, 2010 at 11:28 pm

    Sir Roel, help naman po. Working na po yung Router ko kaso pag pupunta ako sa 192.186.10.254, not available lagi. Paano po iyon? Tsaka mahirap gamitin sa mga cellphones e, sa laptop mabilis.. At paano po pagagandahin yung signal, nawawala kasu kung minsan. Salamat po

  77. X'tian said,

    August 15, 2010 at 11:45 am

    Good day! I just bought this LP-8186 since my ASUS Router broke. LP-8186 is wired with my desk top PC and is working well but my laptop couldn’t find the wifi signal. My laptop has no problem connecting with other wifi signal and with my previous ASUS router. Did I missed something with the configuration on both router and laptop or what? Please help me solve this concern, thanks!

  78. X'tian said,

    August 15, 2010 at 11:47 am

    Oh By the way my ISP is Smart bro

  79. ironlionzion said,

    September 1, 2010 at 10:27 pm

    by any chance can someone let me know if i can configure this router even if im not a pc owner? i’ve been trying to figure it out pero ayaw sa mac :( please let me know if you have steps or tips when it comes to macs also. will really appreciate it!

  80. angel said,

    September 4, 2010 at 12:34 pm

    hi m.noel got to your blog accidentally coz im browsing to find some solution on my prob..dont hav much knowledge on computers..but thru reading iw as able to install my lp 8186 cd r king router…..i just wanna ask if is it normal na na wa wala wala ang connection…what could be the reason?….my laptop could not get the wifi connection few times in a day…..what do you think i should do….right now i dont rememebr anymore how i install the router coz while installing it iw as just reading on internet how to do it i just even copy paste aip addresses there and those dchp numbers since the one i had searched he ahs also lp 8186 router..please help po….how to retaint he wifi connection kasi na wa walala wla.thanks ahead

  81. monique said,

    September 13, 2010 at 9:22 pm

    sir.. tanung ko lng po, kc po yung internet conection nmin nwawala kpg kinakbit sa router na LP_8186..pero kpg direct meron nmn po.. ahm tpos kpg kinabit ko mgkakaroon ulit sa router pero mya2 mwawala ulit..paano po kaya yun? salamat!

  82. Anel Fernandez said,

    September 17, 2010 at 1:24 am

    Sir! help please. :) I have the same router. How can I go back to the config page? I did it once before, but forgot. I don’t have my cd anymore. I tried to visit http://192.168.1.1 and 0.1 but the page cannot be accessed. help me please. :) email me asap.

    anel.fernandez@yahoo.com

    • Anel Fernandez said,

      September 17, 2010 at 1:39 am

      FOLLOW UP. I also tried 192.168.10.254, still no luck. -__-”

      I’m using PLDT DSL with zyxel p-600 modem. plus this router, LP-8186

  83. ryzen said,

    September 20, 2010 at 10:44 pm

    Bro. problema ko kasi ayaw maconnect ung router lp8186 ko sa laptop acer 4715z pero nadetect naman sya, ayaw lang talaga maconnect pano ba gawin ko?

  84. Acasel said,

    September 24, 2010 at 9:52 pm

    hi network master I really need help.

    I have a PLDT my DSL internet and im having problems with my settings

    Iam currently on Gateway settings and I have enabled WEP as my security. The problem I’am encountering is the constant (Lag) continues disconnection and reconnects for about 5 to 10 seconds. which is very bothersome. especially when downloading and playing games. sometimes it just disconnects.. I dont know if my router is malfunctioning or the adsl modem

    Im like this in a painful 8-10 months I guess. any help will be very appreciated. thank you and more power!

  85. Mona Salazar said,

    September 27, 2010 at 9:23 pm

    can you pls help me naman po kung pano set up yung router ko dito sa pc ko po kase di ko po alam globe broadband gamit ko po try ko na lahat kaso ayaw parin po.. salamat

  86. bobskie said,

    September 30, 2010 at 11:19 pm

    sir same lang po ba ang configuration nito sa ibang router ng cdr king like 54Mbps Wireless-G AP Router??thanks

  87. Georgia said,

    October 2, 2010 at 1:45 pm

    hi:)
    do you know how to install/setup a

    cd-r king LP-8616
    WIRELESS-N MIMO AP ROUTER(1T1R)
    with a password?

    i have a smart bro connection.
    thankyou:))

  88. Georgia said,

    October 2, 2010 at 1:50 pm

    i’ve been trying
    to use the quick install guide included in the product, and it’s useless.

    Also, above the Quick Setup window, it keeps on saying “Device Disconnected”
    even though it is connected.

    thanks:)

  89. Georgia said,

    October 2, 2010 at 1:51 pm

    *Device Disconnect

  90. jojo said,

    October 2, 2010 at 9:57 pm

    sir im using smartbro for my internet coonection.ask ko lang sana kung aling jack ung ikakabit ko sa router…it is the one directly coming from the canopy or yung jack from where i connect the one from my canopy…ung naka attach dun sa ikinakabit sa electrical socket.anyway i tried connecting both sa wan port but i can access the router’s web page.pls help.thanks

  91. hommer said,

    October 5, 2010 at 11:23 am

    CD-r KING SUCKS.. Still not working.. Buti pa yung linksys at Netgear, autoconfiguration at auto renew ipadd pag may ipconflict, .. I tried everything, globe connection namin..
    I switched to Linksys, it works fine and smootlh..

  92. hommer said,

    October 5, 2010 at 11:35 am

    Disregards my previous comments.. Bro, Ur the BEST!!!!! I read ur previous post, sa LAN ports lang pala isasaksak not RJ45, not sa WAN. Galing mo mag configure ahh.. But stil, i dnt prefer CD-Rking..
    Globe connection ko..

  93. paul said,

    October 5, 2010 at 11:38 pm

    Thanks! This is a really helpful article. :)

  94. Justine Jesmond Juaiting said,

    October 13, 2010 at 2:03 am

    Thank you for this helpful information, I already give up on connecting my wifi to globe wimax, but when I read your post, woah, it works like a charm, more power to you, keep on sharing mate. =>

  95. elmer said,

    December 4, 2010 at 11:11 pm

    If you are using Globe, modem must be connected to one of your LAN ports (not to the WAN port) of the CD-R King LP-8186 router. With Globe, the CD-R King LP-8186 acts only as an access point and all computers connecting through it are actually using bridge networking.
    Now its working!!!
    thank a lot!!!

  96. khayzi said,

    January 20, 2011 at 12:45 am

    hi.. thanks for this kuya.. you saved my life.. lol kala ko hndi na gagana yung router kakainis kasi yung manual eh.. big thanks to u coz i’m now enjoying the wireless connection.. again thanks much! ^_^

  97. joshua said,

    March 3, 2011 at 10:54 am

    thank you very much for a very helpful blog. after 6 months i have finally connected my cdr king wifi. more power and thank you for not being selfish.

  98. allan said,

    April 10, 2011 at 5:40 pm

    Thanks sa config. napagana ko din sa wakas :)

  99. Matutz said,

    June 4, 2011 at 8:36 pm

    This very helpful article is like a needle in the “webstack”. You won’t know it’s importance until you came in such a NEED to setup your CDRK LP-8186 router badly.

    Either SMART (canopy) or GLOBE (wimax). This works for both!!! Tested and guaranteed 100% working setup!

    Keep up the kindness of sharing knowledge! Thanks!


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

