Configuring the CD-R King LP-8186 Wireless AP Router

A couple of days after I opened a Smart Bro wireless broadband internet account, Smart Communication’s technician came knocking on my door to install the canopy and configure my computer to hook with the Smart Bro wireless internet network.  The installation was a breeze.  I found no issue in the Smart Bro’s configuration and as a matter of fact, this blog is not about the Smart broadband internet but my experience with the router that I decided to purchase to distribute my broadband access for my laptop, mobile phone and blackberry.

I wanted to buy the most affordable wireless-G access point router available in the market today.  The branded wireless routers made by Linksys, D-Link and Belkin cost over P2,000.  The CD-R King LP-8186 caught my attention because of its low price which is only P1,280.  A quick search on Google shows some satisfied users who have used the product.   Also, this is the only router in the market today that has a configuration guide specific to Smart Bro and other major broadband internet providers in the Philippines.   This has won me over to buy the router for my use.

The installation was not a breeze though.  The CD that came with the router supposedly containing a wizard to help in the configuration did not work on my Vista desktop.  I found out why.  There is probably a bug in the v1.5a firmware of the LP-8186 such that the assigned subnet mask is 255.255.0.0 instead of 255.255.255.0 as the manual shows.  Even after resetting the router, it reverts to a subnet mask of 255.255.0.0.  The mistake in the subnet mask of the router is the main reason why the setup program does not work at least initially.

As a work around for this issue, I manually set my LAN card’s IP address and subnet mask to 192.168.1.1 and 255.255.0.0, respectively and voila! — the setup program was able to communicate with the router without a hitch after this work around.  I then followed the guide which can be downloaded from the CD-R King web site in order to configure the router for Smart Bro.  Also, as a post-configuration activity, I made sure to set the correct subnet mask for my router to 255.255.255.0 and that my LAN card gets its IP and subnet mask automatically from the router.

Except for the initial difficulty in configuring the LP-8186 router, I am a happy new owner of this affordable wireless access point router. For the price I paid for it and it being a reliable router that does the job as expected, I can easily forgive the router’s subnet mask slip-up.  I was able to successfully configure the router on my own and in the end use it without having to call the CD-R King’s support hotline.

Let me know if you have any questions that I might be able to answer about this router or if there is anything you might want to contribute for the other users of this router as well.  Please feel free to comment.

41 Comments

  1. dereck kwan said,

    April 25, 2009 at 2:32 am

    I have an ipod touch 1g and browsing the internet is so slow to the point that you cant do nothing… but when i tried to use a different hotspot everything is ok.

    • Roel said,

      April 27, 2009 at 9:14 am

      Try connecting other wi-fi devices to your LP-8186 router and see if they have problems too. If other wi-fi devices have no trouble connecting to LP-8186, then we can deduce that the problem exists only between Ipod Touch and LP-8186. I myself have trouble connecting my Blackberry Curve 8320 to the LP-8186 but my laptop and Nokia E71 do not have problems at all with the LP-8186. So I figured, my Blackberry’s wireless implementation and not the LP-8186′s implementation could be at fault.

  2. gaztr3 said,

    April 27, 2009 at 12:53 pm

    ayaw maka connect ng nintendo ds lite ko ds lp 8186

  3. reyhard said,

    May 8, 2009 at 12:26 am

    sa akin ayaw ma connect ang wlan..ung lan ok maka connect..problema pa dito sa manual nila, hindi detalyado at di kumpleto..pls can u post a procedure how to connect to wifi sa vista at xp with picture and print screen ng setup?thnks!

  4. reyhard said,

    May 9, 2009 at 12:40 am

    mahirap talaga bro mag setup ng wireless router ng cd-r king..ung ginagawa ko nga sa pc ko nalang sinisetup via lan tapos ung loptop ko na vista ultimate naka stanby for for picking signal..ayaw paring ma connect through wlan..smart bro din ung sa akin at nadownload ko na ung manual na .doc pero kulang pa rin yata ang procedure nila..sana update naman nila ung manual..

    • Roel said,

      May 18, 2009 at 5:45 am

      I have recently written another blog post detailing the configuration for each of Smart Bro and Globe. You may want to read my other post.

  5. Eza said,

    May 14, 2009 at 1:55 pm

    hi, ask ko lang sana kung paano magset ng password sa wireless broadband routers.please help me naman oh…thanks a lot!

    • Roel said,

      May 24, 2009 at 7:57 am

      If you are referring to the administrator password of the router, go to the router page, then click ‘Management’, then click ‘Password.’ If you are referring to the wireless pre-shared key, click ‘Wireless’ then click ‘Security’ to enter the pre-shared key. You may want to refer to my other blog post because I posted screenshots of my configuration.

  6. reyhard said,

    May 23, 2009 at 12:56 am

    thinks sir..at na solve ko rin sa wakas ung mystery about WLAN..salamat sa details..ika nga..A picture speaks a thousand words..

  7. kris said,

    July 12, 2009 at 3:09 am

    i have a laptop and desktop using wireless router is it possible to put a password para hindi maacess ng iba? if so pls give the procedures sprcifically and step by step with pictures on it

    • kris said,

      July 12, 2009 at 3:13 am

      i have a laptop and desktop using wireless router is it possible to put a password para hindi maacess ng iba? if so pls give the procedures sprcifically and step by step with pictures on it

    • kris said,

      July 12, 2009 at 3:25 am

      baka masagap ng iba ang internet because im using laptap and desktop connectingon wireless router what will i do para hindi nila masagap

      • Roel said,

        July 13, 2009 at 11:19 pm

        Please read my other post entitled “How to Configure the CD-R King LP-8186 with Smart Bro and Globe.” It has all the settings you need in order to secure your wireless network.

  8. jb said,

    July 17, 2009 at 11:27 am

    sir, pano ba i-monitor ung mga naka-connect sa router?
    like,
    -I want to check which websites they have visited?
    -how many devices are currently connected to my router?

    • Roel said,

      July 17, 2009 at 11:40 am

      On the Wireless Basic Settings page of your router, there is a button called “Show Active Clients”, if you click on it you will see the client machines or devices that are connected wirelessly to your router. Unfortunately, you will not be able to see what they are doing with their internet connection. May I know why you want to check the web sites the remote users have visited?

  9. Brian said,

    July 27, 2009 at 1:17 am

    I’d like to think of myself as creative over technical that’s why when it comes to configuring computers and other tech products I’d most likely make a mess of it. I just purchased the CD-R King AP Router and made a mess of the configuration. How can fix this? The problem is everytime I connect to the net through wifi, I have to dial my connection first with Bayantel. How do I make the connection automatic without having to dial Bayantel every time? Another problem is that the other laptops in the house can’t connect to the net. Please please help me.

    • Roel said,

      July 29, 2009 at 9:57 am

      I have no first-hand experience with Bayantel configuration with LP-8186, so sorry that I maybe of less help here. With regards to fixing a messed configuration of your router, you might want to reset it back to its default manufacturer settings and restart the configuration all over again. To reset the router,
      turn off the router (pull the power out of the unit), then press and hold the reset button on the rear panel with a pin and while holding down the reset button turn on the router (plug the power back into the unit). It is important that you continue to hold down the reset button for approximately 20 seconds before releasing it. You may want to refer to my other post entitled “How to Configure the CD-R King LP-8186 with Smart Bro and Globe” to allow the laptops to connect through it wirelessly.

      • Brian said,

        October 12, 2010 at 1:14 pm

        Sorry for the late reply. Thanks for the help last year. I did restore factory settings several times until I finally got the setup right.

  10. gary said,

    July 30, 2009 at 12:51 pm

    sir, roel i bought yesterday sa cdrking na router LP8186.. d ko p din m get yung sinabi mo ….how to configure it. pls give me full details about this…kng ako mag start…gamit ko xp at vista….. send me sa email sna yung pg configure.. tnx…..

  11. Ronnel T. Estiva said,

    September 4, 2009 at 5:36 pm

    sir pagerun ko ung cd driver ng router makta na install.pag maklic na unconnected..

    • Roel said,

      September 5, 2009 at 7:19 am

      Sorry but I have trouble understanding your SMS-speak :) Kindly use normal english or speak in the vernacular to better communicate in a forum. Also, please refer to my other blog post about configuring the CDR King router LP-8186 with Globe or Smart Bro.

  12. ronz said,

    October 29, 2009 at 6:43 pm

    hello, im not really good with set ups ang configuration. I just bought a cd-r king wireless router. Im following the step by step configuration for PLDT DLS PPPoe but then I stop when it ask for a username ang password from ISP? I dont know about that..plz plz can u help me?..thanx

  13. Daryl Granario said,

    November 5, 2009 at 12:10 am

    Sir, my laptop and desktop’s connection are only local, i can’t access the internet. =( and I really think that I followed the guide clearly. I also double-checked the configuration and everything seems fine. PLDT dsl po.

  14. ronz said,

    November 10, 2009 at 7:39 pm

    hello. how can I change the password of my cd rking wireless router? I want to change it because a lot of my room mates is accessing to it. please pleas help me how to change it. step by step coz i’m not good with this, I just hire someone to configure it before.
    need your help thanks!

  15. lex said,

    December 27, 2009 at 11:12 pm

    would be interested to know if there was hope for your blackberry 8320 to be accessing the internet from the router?

    i have tried mine to connect to other hotspots with success.. but through my own cd-r king router at home, no chance.

    it can connect actually, but it says “unable to connect to the internet, please try again later. if the problem persists please contact your service provider”

    • Roel said,

      December 29, 2009 at 8:46 am

      Unfortunately, my Blackbery 8320 is still not able to access the internet from the router. I have not figured out why. My Nokia E71 is able to connect to the internet through the router so I suspect the 8320′s wireless client could be the problem here, though I have no means to really ascertain this.

  16. ionfizz said,

    April 4, 2010 at 5:24 pm

    Hi. I have been trying to configure the same unit based on the CDR King manual and even posts from the net to no avail. The problem is, my HP laptop and my Nokia E63 can detect the wireless network but can’t connect. HP Laptop reports that the signal is weak and suggests to connect to other wireless networks (considering that the laptop is just a foot away from the router) and my phone in the middle of a connection reports “WLAN network notr found”… I am desperate….

  17. Gaff said,

    June 14, 2010 at 7:49 am

    Hello po. I’m still at lost sa problem ko po about the blackberry-cd-r king router connection. I really can’t make them work po. :-/ My blackberry has connected to the router but the logo of wifi on the screen is dull and I couldn’t browse using my blackberry browser or the opera. I also tried to access ubertwitter but it wont work. The phone is connected but couldn’t do anything other than show me a dull logo and connected status. I’m really sad about it. Please let me know if you have any insights about my problems. Thanks alot.

    *blackberry 8520
    *cd-r king router which i got for PhP 1000

  18. keeny said,

    June 22, 2010 at 7:00 pm

    i dont know how to put password on my cd-r king router… others might have the chance to freely connect to the internet through my router… thnks

  19. KarlSoriano said,

    August 7, 2010 at 8:35 pm

    Sir Roel, help naman po sana sa LP-8186 ko. I-configure ko na sana kaso ang problema pag pupunta na ako sa 192.168.1.254, not available..

  20. josh said,

    August 9, 2010 at 12:07 am

    i am using a wimax bm622…at lp8186 na router hindi ko xa maconfigure that’s why hindi pa rin kami makakonek through wifi we find it so difficult to configure…

  21. joy relon said,

    August 13, 2010 at 4:07 pm

    i just bought LP-8186 and gusto ko sana lagyan ng password pano po ba and if possible step by step procedure, nag hire lang kse ko ng technician to install this. thanks

  22. jim said,

    August 17, 2010 at 2:06 pm

    gud day bro. nakabili po ako ng L-8186 sa cdrking, di ko alam iset up e. PLDT DSL ang internet ko. patulong naman po. Pkisend sa email ko po ang reply nyo. Thanks and God Bless.

  23. Jayvee said,

    October 4, 2010 at 5:03 pm

    I cant seem to connect my router and my modem. When i plug the cable to the WAN port, the ethernet cable on my PLDT DSL does not light but when plugged to the LAN it does. Thanks

  24. Bad'z said,

    October 5, 2010 at 11:42 pm

    Sir can you help me with my router?? I set a username and a password in the admin. but unfortunately i forgot the password and username, is there any other way in retrieving the password without reseting the password?

  25. annie said,

    October 12, 2010 at 11:30 am

    hi roel, i bought the cd-r king wireless lan ap router and it was ok a few months ago i guess but right now my line keeps dropping. sometimes me and my son play mmorpg and our computers get d/c or dropped line..

    i was thinking to upgrade its firmware, right now mine is 1.5 firmware version. do u think i can just get any firmware for the ieee 802.11 b/g and install it
    do u think it will help?

    also want to tell u i have blackberry 8320 and it cannot connect to my cd-r king router, but when i went to m friends house i was able to connect to her linksys router. i think this is a cd-r king issue vs the blackberries..

    response would be very appreciated.

    • Roel said,

      October 12, 2010 at 7:05 pm

      My firmware version is 1.15a and I am not sure what is the latest version for the LP8186. If you could find the latest one, let me know. I still have not figured out how to make BB 8320 work with the LP8186 so I have resigned to the fact, that they simply do not work together.

      • ann said,

        July 21, 2011 at 8:33 am

        roel thanks for this blog, i spent hours trying to think it was my bb who had a problem i never thought it was my router.

        my wii can connect, my ds can connect. my hp laptop. but the curve 8320 DOES NOT WORk. i am telling you i spent hours , endless sleepless nights trying to figure out..what i am doing wrong.

        blackberry is such a flawed product. they shud at least warn peopel their devices are router specific.

  26. Bob said,

    June 28, 2011 at 12:16 pm

    still no solution on the BB8320 and cdrking router? Even my itouch wont connect. Sana meron ng solution, TIA. Regards


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

